, , , ,

Boston Braves Logo

The 1948 World Series between the Boston Braves and the Cleveland Indians was coming down to the wire. After 5 games, the Braves were on the verge of losing the series with Cleveland ahead in the series 3 games to 2. They had one last shot on Monday, October 11, 1948 in Boston.

This was the only World Series from 1947 to 1958 not to feature a New York team, and also the last World Series until 1957 not won by a New York team (which the Braves won over the Yankees, after they had relocated to Milwaukee).

The teams would meet again in the 1995 World Series won by the Braves—by then relocated to Atlanta. This was the first World Series and the last until 2016 where the series score was even.

The Indians struck first in Game 6 when Dale Mitchell hit a leadoff double in the third off of Bill Voiselle and scored on Lou Boudreau’s RBI double, but the Braves tied the game on Mike McCormick’s RBI single with two on off of Bob Lemon in the fourth.

A walk loaded the bases, but Voiselle grounded out to end the inning. Joe Gordon’s leadoff home in the sixth put the Indians back in front 2–1. After a one-out walk and single, Jim Hegan’s RBI groundout extended their lead to 3–1. Three straight singles in the eighth by Ken Keltner, Thurman Tucker and Eddie Robinson made it 4–1 Indians.

In the bottom of the inning, the Braves loaded the bases off of Lemon on a single, double and walk. Clint Conatser’s sacrifice fly and Phil Masi’s RBI double off of Gene Bearden made it 4–3 Indians, but Bearden pitched a scoreless ninth for the save to give the Indians the championship, currently their last.