, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Braves won three World Series titles in 9 World Series appearances. The Braves are the only franchise to win the World Series in three different cities. Boston, Milwaukee, and Atlanta.

What years have the Braves played in the World Series?

Boston Braves

  • 1914 – Won
  • 1948 – Lost

Milwaukee Braves

  • 1957 – Won
  • 1958 – Lost

Atlanta Braves

  • 1991 – Lost
  • 1992 – Lost
  • 1995 – Won
  • 1996 – Lost
  • 1999 – Lost

When did the World Series start?

The 1st was 1903 Boston vs. Pittsburgh (the teams that would later be named the Red Sox and the Pirates).

As of 2017, the World Series has been contested 113 times, with the AL winning 65 and the NL winning 48.

Until the formation of the American Association in 1882 as a second major league, the National Association of Professional Base Ball Players (1871–1875) and then the National League (founded 1876) represented the top level of organized baseball in the United States. All championships were awarded to the team with the best record at the end of the season, without a postseason series being played. From 1884 to 1890, the National League and the American Association faced each other in a series of games at the end of the season to determine an overall champion.

These series were disorganized in comparison to the modern World Series, with the terms arranged through negotiation of the owners of the championship teams beforehand. The number of games played ranged from as few as three in 1884 (Providence defeated New York three games to zero), to a high of fifteen in 1887 (Detroit beat St. Louis ten games to five). Both the 1885 and 1890 Series ended in ties, each team having won three games with one tie game

How many World Series titles has the Atlanta Braves franchise won in their history?

Three (3) – 1914, 1957, 1995.

The Atlanta Braves were formally known as the Boston Braves and Milwaukee Braves. Since they have played in Atlanta, the Braves won the World Series in 1995 . They played in the World Series but did not win in 1991, 1992, 1996 and 1999.

1892–1900: “The Monopoly Years”

Following the collapse of the American Association after the 1891 season, the National League was again the only major league. The league championship was awarded in 1892 by a playoff between half-season champions. This scheme was abandoned after one season. Beginning in 1893—and continuing until divisional play was introduced in 1969—the pennant was awarded to the first-place club in the standings at the end of the season. For four seasons, 1894–1897, the league champions played the runners-up in the post season championship series called the Temple Cup. A second attempt at this format was the Chronicle-Telegraph Cup series, which was played only once, in 1900.

In 1901, the American League was formed as a second major league. No championship series were played in 1901 or 1902 as the National and American Leagues fought each other for business supremacy (in 1902, the top teams instead opted to compete in a football championship).


Image result for world series