, , , ,

The 1891 championship took a long time to complete. It wasn’t until November 11 that it was official.

In late September, the New York Giants came to Boston. They were out of the pennant race. They were there for a 5 game series. New York decided to leave a few players at home. They didn’t bring their 2 best pitchers, Amos Rusie and John Ewing. They also didn’t bring their best hitter, Roger Connor.

The Beaneaters swept the five game series on September 30. Chicago, suspecting some collusion filed a protest.

On October 1, Boston clinched the title beating Philadelphia 6-1. That was amazingly their 17th straight win. The next day they won again making it 18 in row.

Because of the protest, the announcement of the champion was delayed until November 11. The protest was denied by the League.

After a long delay the Braves won the pennant.

Boston Beaneaters