Tags

, , ,

You have to love Larry “Chipper” Jones. Chipper spent his entire 19-year career playing for the Atlanta Braves. Although initially a shortstop, he spent most of his career as the starting third baseman for the Braves.

In 2002 and 2003, Jones Chipper Jonesplayed left field before returning to third base in 2004. He currently holds the Braves team record for career on-base percentage (.402), and on July 5, 2007, he passed Dale Murphy for third place on the Braves all-time career home run list.

Jones ended his career in 2012 with a .303 career batting average, with 468 home runs, 1,512 walks, and 1,623 RBIs in 2,499 games with 8,984 at bats.

I miss the game, but I’m loving retired life. After seven knee surgeries and two ACL replacements, it was time to go. It was starting to get to the point where I’d be on the road and didn’t want to be there. I had my time. I played 19 years in the bigs. How many people can say that? I had a lot of success and great memories, but it got to a point where I didn’t know every morning if I’d be able to play that day or not, and that’s a lot of undue pressure on the manager and team if I won’t be able to play. And when it got to the point where it got to me only playing 100 games a year, I felt like I was doing more harm than good.

I have no regrets, no urges to go back. People have asked me about coaching, and I have absolutely zero desire to get back in uniform right now, because the lifestyle is still part of it. I lived out of a suitcase for 23 years as a professional athlete, and I like my life right now. I like being rooted down and not having to pack my suitcase every three days.

Chipper Jones, the No. 1 overall pick in the 1990 draft, played for the Atlanta Braves from 1993-2012. He won the 1999 National League MVP award, made eight NL All-Star teams and helped the Braves make the postseason 13 times.

via Chipper Jones on state of the Braves, NL East race and retirement – MLB – SI.com.

