Tags

, , , ,

I wish I could have been there. I thought about flying. My wife suggested we drive. Maybe I’m just too old now but the prospect of a 24 hour road trip in two days was just too much. What has happened to me?

I decided not to go. I watched it on my laptop via MLB.TV.

It is the end of so much and the start of so much more. No more baseball in downtown Atlanta. It was always an adventure. How to get there. Where to park. When to leave to not get stranded.

The good news, for a really horrible season, is they leave with a win. Teheran pitched one of his finest games, going seven innings and giving up three hits, one walk and no runs. He struck out 12, tying his career high.

Freddie Freeman drove in Ender Inciarte on a first-inning sacrifice fly. That would be all that is needed. A perfect end to the history of it all.

And so it goes! A new stadium, new hopes, new dreams.

The first pitch was thrown by Atlanta Braves starter Julio Teheran to Detroit Tigers leadoff hitter Ian Kinsler at 3:13 p.m ET, with the game-time temperature at 80 degrees.

Source: Atlanta Braves say goodbye to Turner Field – CNN.com

