Tags

, , , , ,

Freddie Freeman’s Iron Man streak ended in 2015 courtesy of a nagging wrist injury that twice landed him on the disabled list. The Braves’ two-time All-Star first baseman missed 44 games total in 2015 and struggled during the second half of the season while playing through pain, posting uncharacteristic offensive numbers after the break.

The great news for the 2016 season is that Freeman’s injury issues appear to be in the rearview mirror. A healthy Freeman can make a huge difference.

The 26-year-old joined 680 The Fan to discuss his long road to recovery and said he’s pain-free for the first time in months.

It’s been a long offseason, but my wrist is 100 percent healthy for the first time in six months. I think everybody saw the report with (Fox Sports MLB insider) Ken Rosenthal when I told him that I was 100 percent healthy, but that was just everyday activities. I didn’t become 100 percent baseball-wise until Dec. 31. I took 10 dry swings and felt pain-free for the first time.

Source: Atlanta Braves first baseman Freddie Freeman: Wrist is ‘100 percent healthy’ | FOX Sports

 

