Tags

, , , ,

Greg Maddux

Greg Maddux

Mark McGwire tied Harmon Killebrew for fifth place on August 1, 2001, connecting off Greg Maddux for No. 573 in St. Louis’ 4-0 win over the Atlanta Braves.

“I accomplished something, but I’m not going to sit back and think about it, I’m going to think about the game tomorrow,”McGwire said. McGwire’s two-run homer in the sixth, his 19th of the season,was the key hit as the Cardinals snapped Maddux’s 10-game winning streak.

McGwire said there would be plenty of time later to reflect on his individual accomplishments. “Tomorrow is more important than to think about something I’ve accomplished that I can think about when the season’s over and I’ve retired,” he said.

Maddux said the pitch McGwire hit was a mistake.”I threw the ball down the middle and he’s swinging way too good right now for that kind of pitch,” he said. “I don’t like facing him, I never have.”

 

