Tags

, , , , , ,

Greg Maddux

Greg Maddux

A sore neck didn’t stop Greg Maddux from another milestone.

Maddux pitched six shutout innings for his 268th career win, tying Hall of Famer Jim Palmer for 30th most ever, as the Atlanta Braves beat the Milwaukee Brewers 4-0 August 1, 2002 to sweep the three-game series.”

“It’s cool,” Maddux said of the achievement, “but that’s not the reason I pitch. My biggest motivator is taking pride in what I do and enjoying the game. If I stopped to pat myself on the back, it wouldn’t be as good and I don’t do it.”

Maddux said he hurt his neck during batting practice, but told manager Bobby Cox he could pitch.

Maddux struggled with his control a bit early, throwing 52 pitches through three innings, including his first wild pitch of the season, but got out of two jams after the Brewers had two men on base in the first and third innings.

“It felt funny at times and it hurt my control a bit, but sometimes when you’re not 100 percent, it makes you better mentally,” Maddux said.

 

 

