Tags

, , ,

Chipper Jones of the Atlanta Braves

Chipper Jones of the Atlanta Braves (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This was not the way it was supposed to end for Chipper Jones. Those who had seen him homer twice in his first career postseason game and again on his 40th birthday certainly had reason to expect a grand finale.

A sure-fire Hall of Famer and one of the greatest switch-hitters the game has known, Chipper seemed destined to limp off into the sunset after drilling a walk-off homer in Game 7 of the World Series.

Instead, Chipper exited the Braves’ clubhouse on October 5 seemingly shell-shocked by what had transpired in a 6-3 loss to the Cardinals in the National League’s one-game Wild Card playoff. He committed a costly throwing error in St. Louis’ three-run third inning and was limited to a broken-bat infield single in five at-bats.

I wanted to come out here and play well, Today, my heart is broken not for me, my heart is broken for my teammates and my coaching staff, and all these fans that have been so great to us this year. ~Chipper Jones

But I’ll be OK. It’s just one of those things. You come to the park, and I walk out of here knowing that I brought it every single day. I think when you walk out of here knowing that you brought it every day, it makes walking away on the final day a little bit easier. ~~Chipper Jones

 

